Y2K System of a Down Toxicity Album Nu Metal t-shirt Small

Chest 17.5 in.

Length 26 in.

Content: Feels like 100% Cotton

Tag Brand: No Tag

This amazing vintage band t-shirt celebrates one of the most iconic nu-metal groups of the early 2000s, System of a Down, and the shirt showcases the album artwork for their second studio album Toxicity. The band first formed in 1994, and consisted of Serj Tankian, Daron Malakian, Shavo Odadjian, and Andy Khachaturian, who was later replaced with John Dolmayan before the release of their first studio album.

Notably all the members of System of a Down are of Armenian descent, either born of Armenian immigrants or immigrants themselves. The band has always been very proud of their Armenian roots, exemplified by their unique sound, which draws influence from Middle Eastern music and their strong political lyrics, which bring attention to issues like the Armenian genocide.

The band started recording Toxicity in 2000, and they originally recorded a whopping 30s songs before they narrowed it down to the 14 tracks that made it onto the album. Among them were "Aerials", "ATWA", "Prison Song", and arguably the band's most well known hit "Chop Suey!".

A free concert was set up in Hollywood the day before the album's release, but it had to be canceled when attendance was more than double what had been estimated. The cancellation lead to six-hour long riot, but such a large mass of upset fans just demonstrated the popularity and influence that the band had earned. Toxicity wound up topping the Billboard 200 and was certified triple platinum. The band toured alongside fellow nu-metal titans Slipknot, and together they both embarked on the Pledge of Allegiance Tour with Rammstein in 2001.

Fits like a modern unisex adult small.


Pin It